Unit 13 Task 1.1

Unit 13 Task 1.1
The EYFS sets the standards for children when they are aged 0-5. It sets out learning and development requirements, assessments and the safeguarding and welfare requirements. All schools, child minders, preschools and nurseries must follow the EYFS as it is a statutory document. There are two areas of learning that children will come across, these are prime and specific. Each of these areas are built up of different aspects which altogether make up the 17 early learning goals. The EYFS has characteristics that help practitioners understand how the children are learning and what they need to provide the children to progress. Characteristics help children become motivated and keep trying the things that they are not so good at.
The prime area is split into three sections 1-communication and language
2-Physical development
3-Personal, social and emotional development

The specific area is split into four different sections;
1- Literacy
2- Mathematics
3- Understanding the world
4- Expressive art and design.

Prime areas are the ones that children are expected to learn first. If they are not taught correctly this could affect the specific areas. The prime areas are all interconnected.It is important to remember that each are of learning and development does not work in isolation but they are all in fact linked. Good activities will cover more than one area of development. For example; allowing children to access the outdoors will not only support their physical development, but encourage them to use their communication skills. In order to help children achieve their full potential across the six areas of learning development of babies and young children must be encouraged through opportunities for them to be active and interactive and to improve their skills of coordination, control, manipulation and movement. They must be supported in using all of their senses to learn about the world around them and to make connections between new...