Development Through the Life Stages

Development through the life stages

Describe physical, intellectual, emotional and social development through the life stages.
Throughout our whole life span we develop and grow through life stages. The main life stages are:
  * Prenatal stage.
  * Baby stage.
  * Infant stage.
  * Toddler stage.
  * Childhood.
  * Adolescence.
  * Adulthood.
  * Old age.
Physical development
Life begins with conception. A woman usually produces an egg each month. The egg cell travels from the ovary towards the uterus. If sexual intercourse takes place whilst the egg is in the fallopian tube there is a possibility of conception. When a man ejaculates during intercourse millions of sperm are produced, just one sperm may fertilise the egg. Although only about half of all fertilised eggs develop to become babies. Many eggs are lost without a woman even knowing that fertilisation ever happened.
Prenatal stage
Pregnancy begins when a sperm penetrates an egg. After a couple of days later the single fertilised egg begins to divide. After about two or three days later there are enough cells to make the fertilised egg about the size of a pea. The developing group of cells are known as an embryo which is joined to the uterus by a placenta. The woman can no longer have a menstrual period once the embryo is attached to the uterus. After eight weeks the embryo could have possibly grown to about three to four centimetres, has developed the beginning of eyes, ears, arms, legs, mouth and has a heartbeat. This growing organism is called the foetus. By about twenty weeks the foetus will have reached about half the length of the baby at birth. By about thirty two weeks the foetus should be about half its birth weight.

Birth and infancy
It takes approximately nine months for a baby to be born after conception. When the baby is born it does not have a fully developed brain but can hear sounds and identify the smell and voice of their mother or carer. Also, the new born...