A life stage is defined period of growth and development. People experience physical, intellectual, emotional and social development in each life stage. Human growth and development occurs in the following six life stages:
* Infancy (0-2 years)
* Childhood (3-8 years)
*Adolescence (9-18 years)
* Early adulthood (19-45 years)
* Middle adulthood (46-65 years)
* Later adulthood (over 65 years)
What is the difference between human growth and development?
The term growth refers to an increase in size. Typically, a person will experience a gradual increase in their weight and height as they move from infancy through childhood and into adolescence and adulthood.   Development is different to growth. Development happens when a person gains new skills, abilities and emotions. Growth and developmental norms are particular changes in person’s life that are expected to happen.
Examples of Developmental changes:
Age                               Developmental changes
3-4 months                     Infants starts on solid foods, develop better head control, can roll from side to side, reach for objects
6-9 months                     Teething begins, learns to sit unaided, lift their heads and look around, use thumb and index fingers to grasp objects
9-12 months                   Infants can crawl, chews food, use their hands to explore, can walk holding on to parent or furniture, may say a few words, know their name and start to understand their parents’ words
12-18 months                 Toddlers learn to feed themselves, walk unaided, can understand simple requests – “give it tome”- develops better memory and concentration
18-24 months                 Toddlers can run, turn pages of a book, use simple sentences, have temper outbursts and know their own name
10 years (girls)               Puberty begins
12 years (boys)

The way of explaining the complex process of human growth and development is to identify four types of growth and development....

Similar Essays