P5 Unit 2

Within health and social care, employees can promote anti-discriminatory practice through the following ways:
1. Ethical principles
There are 4 main ethical principles   that should be taken into account in health and social care sector and these are:
• Care users must be able to have justice
• Care users choices must be respected
• All care workers must ensure that whatever they do is beneficial to the care user
• Harm caused by a treatment or intervention should not outweigh the benefits of their treatment.
2. Putting the individual at the heart of the service provision
In order for a care user to be put at the heart of the care provision the health and social care sector needs to:
• The care provided needs to be the same for all care users despite what beliefs, culture and preferences the individual may have. For example, a care user who is Muslim should not be treated any differently to a care user who is Christian.
• Encourage care users to express their needs and preferences. For example, if a care user needs a prayer mat, they should not be shy to ask for this.
• Empower individuals.
• Ensure care users rights, choices and well being is promoted
3. Providing active support consistent with the beliefs, culture and preferences of the individual.
Active support means helping someone to the best of your ability and taking heir beliefs, culture and preferences into account when making decisions in health and social care settings. For example if a care user believes in the Muslim faith, the care worker needs to ensure that the individual’s need to have a prayer mat is fulfilled. The main types of support the care workers use are:
• Advice and guidance
• Medical and care planning information
• Physical support such as dressing, personal care
• Social support
• Mental health support
4. Supporting individuals to express their needs and preferences
This may mean supporting an individual who is deaf in expressing their needs by providing them...