Mr a Musah

Section 1 How to recognise signs of abuse.

1. Define the following types of abuse

Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Emotional/ psychological abuse, Financial abuse, Institutional abuse, Self neglect and Neglect by others.

Below are definitions for each type of abuse mentioned above.

Physical abuse

Abuse involving contact, intended to cause feelings of intimidation, injury or other physical suffering or bodily harm.

Sexual abuse

Any sort of non-consensual sexual contact. Sexual abuse can happen to men or women of any age. This can take the form of derogatory name calling, refusal to use contraception, deliberately causing unwanted physical pain during sex, deliberately passing on sexual diseases or infections and using objects, toys or other items without consent and to cause pain or humiliation.

Emotional/psychological abuse

Emotional abuse can be defined as any behaviour that affects the psychology of an individual by overpowering him/her. It involves verbal as well as non-verbal abuse that eventually undermines the self-respect and independence of the sufferer. Though emotional abuse can occur to anybody, it is more common among those who have least power in society, for example, children and women.

Financial abuse

It is the obtaining of money, possessions, or property through cheating, deception, intimidation or other means, which does not involve the considered choice of the service user.

Institutional abuse

This is abuse occurring in a social or health care establishment that may range from poor practices to ill treatment and gross misconduct. For example, lack of individual care, no flexibility of bedtime or walking, lack of stimulation etc.

When the institution is failing, you see the other types of abuse surfacing.

Self neglect

Failure to care for or attend to properly by oneself either due to carelessness or oversight. This is mostly common when it comes to personal hygiene and eating habits, with most people...