Taqa Level 3

Understanding the principals and practices of assessment
1.1 The three functions of assessment in learning and development:-
1- The initial assessment
An initial assessment is carried out to determine the learner’s knowledge levels and areas of competence. This is done prior to the learning program, it provides the information needed to decide a learners starting point.
It is the benchmark from which learner’s progress and achievement can be measured.
There is a mix of practical and test-based assessment tasks, to ensure that the learner’s level of ability to apply skills in different circumstances is assessed; ideally an initial assessment should be in a context with which the learner is familiar. For workplace or vocational learners, this should be in the context of their chosen programme of learning.
2- The formative assessment
Formative assessments are used to evaluate a learner’s progress and achievement throughout the learning process it is important to monitor a learner’s progress to establish any concerns with the learning process, also feedback should be given to improve the learner’s performance.
3-The summative assessment
Summative assessments are used to measure a learner’s growth after instruction and are generally given at the end of a course in order to determine whether long term learning goals have been met.
Feedback should be given to the learner to advise them on how they have met the course requirements this should be an explanation of how the learner has performed and if any areas need improvement.
If the learner has not passed all assessments explain what standards needed to be achieved.
If the learner has passed highlight the areas where the learner had performed well.
1.2 The definition of key concepts and principals of assessments:-

The first key concept the learner could be assessed on the following:-
The level of knowledge the learner has.
The understanding of the task to be assessed.
The level of...