This is an introduction to parents explaining the different types of schools there are in England.

There are two types of schools in England, state and independent.   The main difference between the two is state schools are free and all follow the National Curriculum.   Independent schools, however, are funded by fees which are paid for by parents and other investors.   These schools have their own curriculum and are monitored by OFSTED or a inspector approved by the Secretary of State.

There are many types of state schools, all specialising in different areas.   Here is a description about some of them, whose is in charge and what they offer:

Community Schools

• Run by Local Authority
• Employs staff
• Owns land and buildings
• Sets up their own admissions criteria
• Having good links with the community and               providing use of their facilities

Foundation and Trust Schools

• Run by governors
• They recruit their own staff
• Land and buildings owned by them

Faith Schools

• Run same way as state schools
• Focus on religion, as well as National Curriculum
• Also faith will be considered with regards to admissions and staffing

Specialist Schools

• These schools focus on certain subjects, such as sports, music or drama
• Follow National Curriculum


• Set up by business or a charity in partnership with Department of Education and Local Authority
• Have freedom to manage their school and decide how the school day should run
• Deliver curriculum in their own way and how the they think suitable
• Altogether they find the land and buildings and the Government provide the running costs

Special Needs Schools

• These cater for children with physical or learning difficulties

I hope this information has been of use to you in helping to decide which school you should choose.