Personal Statement
                My home is originally in Brownsville, Texas. The highest level of education for my parents has been middle school. My father was born and raised in Mexico and is currently a resident in the United States. My mother in the other hand is a U.S. citizen, but raised in Mexico. I am the youngest of three children. Fortunately I was born in the United States. I have always been aware that my family is of low income, and somehow I have always had what I have needed.
My family and I have migrated for over 17 years now. Luckily, we have only traveled to Manchester, Michigan. Every May we would leave Texas to Michigan, and after 6 months of hard work we would go back “home”. I began to work in the fields at the age of 12, as well as my brothers. I never knew what hard work was until I actually began to work in the fields with my family. The work that migrant families do is not easy, and many people do not even know it is the migrant families who pick those fruits and cut those vegetables that are neatly placed in the grocery stores all around the country. For many of migrants, this has become a routine and part of each and everyone’s lives.
                School was never easy for me. I would begin school in September in Michigan and after two months of making friends and learning new things, it is time for me to return home. I struggled trying to make new friends every year, and understanding the content teachers are teaching. Somehow I always managed to overcome these challenges and learn the information in pieces.
I have met people throughout my life who have inspired me to do my best and never settle for less than what I deserve. I have been very fortunate to have had a different experience that has taught me many things that others might not have learned at my age. I have gained the wisdom to know that if I am handed with an opportunity with the tools to do something, to do every possible thing I can to make the best of it. And...