Wendie Burton


Explain the legal status and principles of the relevant early years frameworks and how national and local guidance materials are used in settings.

England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland all develop their framework slightly different. Since 2008 England has introduced a statutory curriculum for children aged 0-5 years who are been cared for outside their homes. This framework is in place for Childminder’s nurseries and pre schools. In addition to the education program me for the early years foundation stage EYFS. England has seven   areas of development.

• Personal,   Social and Emotional development
• Communication and Language
• Physical development
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive arts and Design

There are four distinct EYFS principles which guide the work of all practitioners. The elements are. A unique child
- Positive relationships
- Enabling environment
- Learning and developing

After considering the development of each child based on these areas the child is assessed at the end of the reception year.

Scotland is in the proses of introducing a curriculum which applies to children from 3-18 years.
In Scotland the developing curriculum is that children should be given experiences in order to progress their development and instead of working according to age will be learning according to their level. It aims to develop four capacities, helping children become

*Successful learners
*Confident individuals
*Responsible Citizens
*effective contributors

Wales have been phasing in a statutory curriculum known as learning country. There stage is from 3-7 years. It will focus on experiential learning, active involvement and developing each childs:

• Skills and understanding
• Personal social emotional physical and intellectual well-being
• Positive attitudes
• Self-esteem
• Creative, expressive and observational skills
• Activities in the outdoors

For each...