Unit 6 Stl 1.2

Unit 6 1.2

Explain the characteristics of the different types of schools in relation to education stage(s) and school governance.

There are many different types of schools in which young people can attend.

Mainstream Schools
All children in England between the ages of 5 and 16 are entitled to a free place at a state school. A high percentage go to state schools.
Children normally start primary school at the age of 4 or 5, but many schools now have a reception year for 4 year olds. Children normally leave at the age of 11, moving onto secondary school. Most states schools admit both boys and girls however some are single-sex schools.

The four main types of state school all receive funding from local authorities. They all follow the National curriculum and are regularly inspected by Ofsted.

Community Schools
A community school is fun by the local authority, which
Employs the staff
Owns the land and buildings
Decided which ‘admissions criteria’ to use.
Community schools look to develop strong links with the local community, sometimes offering use of their facilities and providing service of their childcare and adult learning classes.

Foundation and Trust Schools
Foundation schools are run by their own governing body, which employs the staff and sets the admissions criteria. Land and buildings are usually owned by the governing body or a charitable foundation.
A Trust school is a type of foundation school which forms a charitable trust with an outside partner - for example, a business or education charity - aiming to raise standards and explore new ways of working.
The decision to become a Trust school is taken by the governing body, with parents having a say.

Voluntary-Aided Schools
Voluntary-Aided schools are mainly religious or ‘faith schools’, although anyone can apply for a place. As with foundation schools, the governing body:
Employs the staff
Sets the admissions criteria
School buildings and land are normally owned by...