Unit 12 Principles of Assessment in Lifelong Learning

Principles of assessment in lifelong learning |
Unit 012 Level 4 |
Rob Lawrence |

03 December 2012
03 December 2012

“Assessment is the act of collecting information about individuals or groups of individuals to understand them”. Butler S. M. & McMunn N. D.

Three types of assessment are used in lifelong learning:-

Diagnostic:   Provides teachers with information about each student’s prior knowledge before learning begins. Teachers can use this assessment to assist them in developing lesson plans and providing differentiated instruction to meet students' needs.

Formative: Identifies progress and provides opportunities to see how learners have taken in information. The methods can be varied to suit the circumstances which could fit in with the theory of Kolb’s learning cycle (1984) where he describes how people learn from their experiences using trial and error and in this way reflective practice builds upon things that happen.

Summative: Typically given to students after a specific period of instruction to measure their understanding of a subject. It provides a final assessment and is used to gauge the students’ performance over a continued period of time. This assessment can also be used to provide feedback to the teacher about the effectiveness of the unit of work.

There are many methods that can be used to assess students - observation, assignments, tests, exams, quizzes and journals where each method is useful in measuring how much knowledge is being acquired. Observation, tests, quizzes and journals may be used on a regular occurrence whilst assignments will be spread over the course and a final exam may possibly be used at the end.

Assessments can give the opportunity for students to demonstrate their abilities and also be a measuring tool for the tutor. But there are strengths and weaknesses. Used as a positive measuring tool they are an excellent way of testing whether or not a student has grasped the concepts presented in...