The Tenets of Utilitarian Theory

California Board of Regents was first founded in 1905. The legislature allowed the Board to set functional nursing standards by allowing it to administer nursing exams, issue and revoke registered nursing certifications if found violating safe nursing practices. In 1939, the Nursing Practice Act was established. The Nursing Act regulated nursing though licensure of a defined scope of practice. In 1975, the Board name was changed to the current Board of Registered Nursing, and the Nursing Practice Act was amended to provide the current nursing description.

      The Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) is a state governmental agency established by law to protect the public by regulating the practice of registered nurses. The BRN is responsible for the implementation and enforcement of the Nursing Practice Act: the laws related to nursing education, licensure, practice, and discipline. The Nursing Practice Act created a nine-member Board which serves as the BRN decision-making body.

      The formal structure of the Board of Registered nursing is comprised of   nine board members that serve as the policy-setting body for the Board. Seven of the members are appointed by the Governor of California, one by the Senate President Pro-Tempore, and one by the assembly Speaker. Five of the Board members include five registered nurses and four public members. The five registered nurses include two direct-patient care nurses, an advanced practice nurse, a nurse administrator, and a nurse educator. Each member serves a four-year term and can be re-appointed, however the positions doesn’t allow for more than two consecutive terms.

      The BRN works effectively through the work of five committees namely: the Administrative Committee, Legislative Committee, Nursing Practice Committee, Education/Licensing Committee and the Diversion/Discipline Committee, the committee staff provides advice and consultation to each Committee.

      The administrative Board considers and...