Psy 280 Developmental Matrix

Developmental Stages Matrix
December 8, 2010
Professor Jeff Dunlap, Ph.D.
Developmental Stages Matrix
Developmental Stage | Physical changes | Cognitively changes | Socioemotionaly changes |
Infancy | The Infant's Development: Studies showed that a newborn infant quickly learn to discriminate things albeit subconsciously. It is for this reason that an infant recognizes the mother's smell and voice. In most cases, an infant cries when cuddled by a stranger showing capability to discriminate sense of touch and warmth. | Piaget's first of four cognitive stages of development is the sensorimotor stage, which claims that infants deal with the world directly through their perceptions/senses and their actions/motor abilities. At this point, they are unable to use any sort of symbols, such as gestures or representative images, to help them mentally devise solutions to problems. Infants learn a great deal about the world and acquire tools for solving problems directly through their sensory and motor experiences. | Infants become attached to their parents largely because they are comfortable, familiar, and responsive. Denied such care, children may become withdrawn, anxious, and eventually abusive. Children with the highest self-esteem, self-reliance, and social competence usually have warm, concerned, authoritative parents. |
Early Childhood | Basic skills are mastered. (Walk, talk, and feed ourselves)   The beginning of potty training.   Opportunity to build autonomy and self-esteem as we gain more control over our bodies and learn new skills, and the difference of right from wrong. Terrible two’s, ability of saying which might be a pain for parents, but it develops important skills of the will. | The child's cognitive development is based on Piaget's preoperational stage, which is when children (ages 2-7) acclaim the capacity for symbolic thought but are not yet capable of logical problem solving. Children at about...