Promoting Good Healt

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and support to fulfil their potential.

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution, and achieving economic well-being

There are six areas covered by the early learning goals, the early learning goals – the knowledge, skills and understanding which young children should have acquired by the end of the academic year in which they reach the age of five;

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children must be provided with experiences and support which will help them to develop a positive sense of themselves and of others; respect for others; social skills; and a positive disposition to learn.   We must ensure support for children’s emotional well-being to help them to know themselves and what they can do.

Communication, Language and Literacy:

Children’s learning and competence in communicating, speaking and listening, being read to and beginning to read and write must be supported and extended. They are provided with opportunity and encouragement to use their skills in a range of situations and for a range of purposes, and are supported in developing the confidence and disposition to do so

Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy

Children must be supported in developing their understanding of Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy in a broad range of contexts in which they can explore, enjoy, learn, practise and talk about their developing understanding. They are provided with opportunities to practise and extend their skills in these areas and to gain confidence and competence in their use

Knowledge and Understanding of the World

Children must be supported in developing the knowledge, skills and understanding that help them to make sense of the world. Their learning is supported through offering opportunities for them to use a...