Austria-Hungary Monarchy 1867-1918

Austria-Hungary 1867-1918
Austria-Hungary, also known as the Dual monarchy or as the “K.U.K. Monarchy”, was a dualistic state, between 1867 and1918, in which the Kingdom of Hungary enjoyed self-government and representation in joint affairs with the western and northern lands of the Austrian Empire. These affairs were mainly in the form of defence and foreign relations. Austria-Hungary originated in 1867 in a compromise between the Hungarian nobility and the Habsburg monarchy in an attempt to maintain the old Austrian Empire of 1804. As a multi-national empire, it found its political life dominated by disputes among the eleven principal national groups. Although disagreements between the groups frequently afflicted the Empire, the fifty years of its existence saw rapid economic growth and modernization, as well as many liberal reforms. The Empire eventually disappeared as a result of the First World War.
The Austro-Hungarian Compromise of 1867 which inaugurated the empire's dualist structure (1804–67) originated at a time when Austria had declined in strength and in power. Other factors in the constitutional changes included continued Hungarian dissatisfaction with rule from Vienna and increasing national consciousness on the part of other nationalities of the Austrian Empire. Hungarian dissatisfaction grew partially from Austria's suppression, with Russian support, of the Hungarian liberal revolution of 1848–1849. However, dissatisfaction with Austrian rule had grown for many years within Hungary, and had many other causes. By the late 1850s, however, a large number of Hungarians who had supported the 1848-49 revolution were willing to accept the Habsburg monarchy.
Politics and Government
Hungary and Austria maintained separate parliaments, each with its own prime minister. Linking the two fell to a government under a monarch, wielding power absolute in theory but limited in practice. The monarch’s common government had responsibility for...