1.1 Summarise Entitlements and Provision for Early Years

1.1 Summarise entitlements and provision for early years
The age range of children in Early Years education begins in the term following the child’s third birthday, until the child reaches the statutory school age (3-4 years old children). From September 2014 a two-year-old child will also be eligible for a funded place but only if their parent claims certain benefits, for example Income Support, tax credits and low income.
The entitlement includes 15 hours per week of free nursery places, Parents can pay for additional hours if they wish to keep them longer than the 15 hours allocated.
Children can attend nurseries and nursery classes, playgroups and pre-school, child-minders or Sure Start children’s centre. More information can be obtained from local councils. Early education providers are regulated and inspected by Ofsted.
In England the EYFS curriculum is delivered in school nurseries and reception classes. Children between the ages of 3 and 5 years undergo the EYFS curriculum in England which sets standards for the learning, development and care of the child. A child will mostly be taught through games and play. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including child-minders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

  In England and Wales the educational stages are:
• Early Years Foundation Stage
This is for children aged 0-5 years and covers nurseries and reception class of primary school.
• Key Stage 1
This is for children aged 5-7 years and covers primary infant’s year 1 and 2.
• Key Stage 2
This is for children aged 7-11 years and covers primary junior’s year 3 to year 6.
• Key Stage 3
This is for children aged 11-16 years and covers the entire secondary education, years 7-11.

1.2           Explain the characteristics of the different types of schools in relation to education stages and school governance
1. Foundation schools: These schools are owned by a governing body, who are also...