The International Court of Justice - Court of the U.N.

        The International Court Of Justice (ICJ) is the principal
judicial organ of the United Nations, which succeeded the Permanent
court of International Justice after World War Two. It gains its
legitimacy from Article 92 of the UN Charter which allows it to
function " in accordance with the annexed Statute, which is based upon
the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice and forms
an integral part of the present Charter".

        By Article 93 all members of the UN are ipso-facto members of
the Statute and that states not members may become parties, on
conditions to be determined in each case by the UN General Assembly on
recommendation of the Security Council. Therefore allowing countries
such as Switzerland and San Marino, though not members of the UN, to
be parties to the Statute of the Court.

        The court consist of 15 judges, no two of whom may be
Nationals of the same state, elected by the General assembly and the
Security Council. They are elected for 9 years and are eligible for

        The seat of the court is in Hague, Holland, but it may hold
sessions elsewhere whenever it considers desirable. It is a continuing
body. The Statute provides that it is permanently in session except
during judicial vacations. It is also an autonomous body. It elects
its president and vice- president, appoints its registrar, and
provides for the appointment of other officers and clerical staff.

        Its function is to pass judgement on disputes between states,
as such only states may bring their cases before the court. It is open
to all states that are party to the statute and those who agree to the
conditions laid down by the SC. The proceedings of the court are
carried out in French and English; either may be used by the parties.
Written pleading and oral presentations presented in one language are
translated into the other. The judgements and opinions are both in
French and...