Safeguarding by Lee

L3- HSC Technical Certificate unit worksheet
Unit 204 – Principles of safeguarding and protection in health and social care

The numbers in the bracket after each question relate to the assessment criteria in the standards

1. Define the following types of abuse: (1.1.1)

    a. physical abuse

      This doesn’t mean that you have any physical marks on you if you’re the victim, but it is usually a physical act resulting in abuse here are some examples; being pushed or shoved, being slapped, bitten, kicked punched ETC, being denied access to places like the toilet or the ability to wash, and in more extreme cases being burned, attempted to kill or actual murder.

      Signs and symptoms of physical abuse; a person may be withdrawn or hide away when in the presents   their abusers or maybe even anyone at all, may be quite or not speak at all, they may not want to see people, abuse can lead to the person neglecting themselves (see answer to 1f for description). They may have physical injuries like bruises, burns, and even broken bones. Cowering, flinching and weight loss are also common, Physical abuse is related to Emotional/psychological abuse there are further signs and symptoms there.

    b. sexual abuse

      With sexual abuse there is normally one party who is in a position of power this could be anyone to the victim, a family member, care worker, friend, they use their position of power to their advantage to assert their influence over the victim, it is common for there to be an age difference and the person in the position of power to be older than the victim. Sometime the victim is not even aware of what is going on and it may not be until after that they fully understand the implications of what has happened.

      A few examples of sexual abuser are; penetration of any body part with an object, finger or a penis, sexual exploitation, threatening a person about sexual activities, exposing someone to pornographic material....