Expantion of a Nation

Expansion of a Nation

Original 13 Colonies
The original 13 colonies were established prior to 1783. The main settlers were European like William Penn and Thomas Hooker. They came to the colonies for religious freedom, gold, spices, a new life, or to leave famine or war.   The state that are a part of the 13 original colonies are Maine, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

Louisiana Purchase
The Louisiana Purchase was made in 1803. The main people involved with this purchase were Napoleon, Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Robert Livingston and Talley Rand from France.   France sold us the land. This all happened because Spain originally had but gave it to France as a war debt. France then wanted to set up outposts and colonies. Thomas Jefferson found out and he wanted to stop the French from doing so. Then there was an uprising in Haiti and Napoleon changes his mind. He then sold it to the United States for 15 million dollars.   Lewis and Clark were also part of the purchase. Lewis was Jefferson’s secretary and clerk was Lewis’ commander in army. They worked well together. As they were exploring the land they met Sacagawea. She became there guide and interpreter. Since she knew the land so well she saved there lives many times. Sacagawea was married to a French trader names Charbonneau. She was about 15 years old on the expedition and was 6 months pregnant. She carried her son through the whole trip, which lasted 2 years and four months.   This expedition opened a passage west to the Pacific. The states that made up the Louisiana Purchase are Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Kansas, South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming, and Montana.

Treaty of Paris
The Treaty of Paris took place in 1783. The main people involved were Ben Franklin, John Jay and John Adams. These three men went to Paris and made sure that United States boundaries were set...