Young Person Development

TDA 2.1 A1: Child Development
Task 1:   The Definitions for the following aspects of child development are;
Physical Development:
This is mainly about physical skills. Children need to master a lot of different types of movements as they grow.
  * Large movements- being able to control their head, arms and legs known as gross motor movements.
  * Moving around and balancing – being able to walk, jump and move around known as locomotive movements.
  * Fine movements- being able to control their hands and make their hands and eyes work together known as fine motor movements.
Communication Development:
This is about the way that children learn to talk and understand others as well as the way in which they learn to think and work things out.
Cognitive Development:
 Cognitive abilities associated with memory, reasoning, problem-solving and thinking continue to emerge throughout childhood. (
Stages of Cognitive Development are:
  * The Sensorimotor Stage - A period of time between birth and age two during which an infant's knowledge of the world is limited to his or her sensory perceptions and motor activities. Behaviours are limited to simple motor responses caused by sensory stimuli.
  * The Preoperational Stage - A period between ages two and six during which a child learns to use language. During this stage, children do not yet understand concrete logic, cannot mentally manipulate information and are unable to take the point of view of other people.
  * The Concrete Operational Stage - A period between ages seven and eleven during which children gain a better understanding of mental operations. Children begin thinking logically about concrete events, but have difficulty understanding abstract or hypothetical concepts.
  * The Formal Operational Stage - A period between ages twelve to adulthood when people develop the ability to think about abstract...