What Makes We Malaysian


In 1946, Federated Malay States (Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak and Selangor) and Unfederated Malay States (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu and Perlis), together with Malacca and Penang formed the Malayan Union which then reformed as the Federation of Malaya in 1948.   Federation of Malaya gained its independence day on 31 August 1957.   On 16 September 1963, Malaya Federation of Malaya merged with Singapore, Sarawak, and North Borneo (now known as Sabah) and formed a new federation and which was officially name as Malaysia.   On 9 August 1965, Singapore went out from Malaysia to become independent.

Malaysia consists of 13 states and 3 Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan).   It is a democracy country and its head of state is the Yang di-Pertuan Agong appointed by elected monarch and recycling among 9 hereditary Sultans of the Malay states, for 5 years term, and the head of government is the Prime Minister.   .

|[pic]                                                 |The National Flag was name Jalur Gemilang (Stripes of Glory) consist of 14 red and|
|Jalur Gemilang (Stripes of Glory)                     |white stripes alternately, equally width and 14 pointed star represent the equal   |
|                                                       |status in the federation the 13 member states and the federal government of the   |
|                                                       |states in Malaysia.   The crescent represents Islam, the official religion and     |

the yellow colour of the star and crescent is the royal colour of the Malay rulers while the blue canton symbolizes the unity of the Malaysian people.

|The National Emblem of Malaysia consists of a shield guarded by two tigers.   The shield is topped by a       |[pic]Unity Is Strength       |
|yellow crescent represent Islam as the official religion and a fourteen pointed star represent states in     |                             |
|Malaysia, and includes a motto,...