What Is Meant by Healthy Eating

Unit 1.1
What is meant by healthy eating?

Healthy eating is a nutritious food that provides balanced source of vitamins, fibers, minerals, proteins, calcium and other macronutrients to support mental and emotional development. Thus a balanced diet that includes the 5 groups of food is recommended. In other words, balanced meals that consist of the 5 groups (protein, legumes, and whole grains, vegetable, fruits and dairy). However, this does not mean the taste of the food is ignored, the healthy food can be prepared in a delicious way to ensure the children and kids will get mentally attached to eating healthy meal together with families’ sets a good example for kids to follow. Having said that, breakfast is the most important meal for children to kick-start their day and boost energy and mental focus for a better concentration and becomes more energetic and active.
Examples of food included:
Protein a substance of foods nutritious used as energy sources that can be found in meat, poultry, fish, beans and milk.

Legumes provide a range of essential nutrients including, carbohydrates, dietary fiber, minerals and vitamins. It can be found in beans and peanuts.

Whole grains are a nutrients rich n fiber, protein, and antioxidants. Also help us to maintain regular bowel. It can be found in brown rice, corn, oatmeal’s, buckwheat, quinoa, and whole rye.

Fruits and vegetable is rich in vitamins especially in vitamin C, and also minerals. Eat variety of fruits and veggies it provides fiber that help you keep bowel movement.

Dairies are source of calcium found in milk, cheese, yogurt, butter and oil.

Ref: https://www.google.com/ images

Balanced meal in the right portion can be arranged into 5 groups:


The food pyramid focuses on variety of foods that provides energy, minerals, protein, vitamins and fiber.