Unit 1

The main stages of child and young person development
The term development means the various stages of growth from birth to adulthood. These developments include:
  * Motor skills
  * Social skills
  * Physical development
  * Cognitive/Intellectual skills
  * Stages of growth from birth to nineteen
  * Life skills
The term milestone development is a widespread of averages in which children are expected to reach a stage of development. Children’s developments often has a very similar sequence but could be at different rates. By sequence we mean in order they learn in for example walk before they can run.

Areas of Development
There are four areas of development these are:
  * Communication
  * Cognitive/Intellectual
  * Physical - gross motor skills
  * Social, Emotional, Behavioral

Behavioral, Emotional, Social
  * Communication – The ways we communicate differently to adults, young people and children.
  * Understanding emotions the way we react with our facial expressions, body language, tone or voice and moods.
  * Relating to social situations properly – How they react to different environments. Their behaviour changes from when their at home to being in school or out on the playground.
  * Learning different behaviours from others like teachers, parents, siblings and friends.
  * Ways to cope with negative advents like phobias and anxiety.
  * Distinguishing the difference between fantasy and reality.
  * Understanding the consequences between different behaviour like what’s good and what’s bad.

Communication and Language.
  * Sign language – Makaton
  * Reassurance
  * Computers
  * Braille
  * Vocabulary
  * Audio/Visual
  * Pitch of voice – Volume
  * Facial expressions.
  * Listening
  * Shouting
  * Confidence
  * Laughing
  * Whispering
  * Speed of speech
  * Talking
  * Singing
  * Eye contact
  * Email/Texting
  * Lip reading...