Unit 1


NVQ Diploma Level 3

Student:   Fred Tinkamanyire

Accessor: Ms. Beverly Brennan


  1. The sequence and pattern of development for children and young people from birth to 19 years.

The pattern of children’s development for each age is categorised into five main aspects among others which include: Physical; Social, Emotional and behavioural; Communication and language; Intellectual and cognitive.

Physical Development

0 – 3 Years

The physical development at this stage is usually very rapid. For instance, at birth babies depend on reflexes for movements to enable them feed or grasp whenever they touch something. By age one; they have much more control over their bodies. They are beginning to crawl, shuffle, pulling or pushing on things to stand.

Between 1 - 2 years, a child will begin walking, pulling or pushing toys along while walking.

They enjoy trying to feed themselves with finger foods. Waving goodbye becomes fun they will begin to point to what they want and shake their head to mean ‘no’.

Between the ages of 2 and 3 mark making on paper will progress to scribbles as they begin to use pencils etc. Balls start to be kicked and thrown. Bricks will be built into larger towers than before, and they will start to experiment with liquids in play by pouring.

3 – 7 Years

At 3 years children begin to gain more independence. Their mobility and climbing skills will be advancing as they run, jump, catch, walk up and down stairs etc. Dexterity increases with small objects like puzzles, threading beads etc. Dressing and undressing will be assisted but more cooperative.
They will be developing their gross and fine motor skills: Running, Jumping, Catching, throwing and aiming, building, climbing, pedalling, use of scissors, holding a pencil to draw and colour threading small beads sewing stitches etc. They will have more pencil control and will begin to copy letters...