The Structure of Education

The structure of education from early years to post-compulsory education

Entitlement & provision for early years education.
As part of the every child matters agenda and the Childcare Act 2006 every child aged 3 & 4 is entitled to receive part time early years education of up to 12.5 hours per week for 38 weeks of the year to ensure that they receive up to 2 years free education before reaching school age.

The characteristics of schools & school governance.
All schools are seeking to enforce expectations in terms of meeting the national curriculum.
Under the National Curriculum there are four Key Stages to education:

Foundation4 year olds
Key Stage 15 to 7 year olds
Key Stage 27 to 11 year olds
Key Stage 311 to 14 year olds
Key Stage 414 to 16 year olds

Mainstream State Schools
All children in England aged 5 to 16 are entitled to free education at a state school, most go to state schools.
Nursery school: 3 to 4 year olds
Reception: 4 year olds
Primary: 5 to 11 year olds (Key Stage 1 & 2)
Secondary: 11 to 16 (Key Stage 3 & 4)
There are 4 main types of state school: Community schools, Foundation & Trust schools, Voluntary aided schools, Voluntary Controlled schools.

Community schools
These are run & owned by the local authority & cover all 4 Key Stages.

Foundation & Trust schools
Foundation schools are run by a governing body which employs the staff and sets the entrance criteria. Land and buildings are owned either by the governing body or by a charitable foundation.

Trust schools are similar, but are run together with an outside body – usually a business or charity – which has formed an educational trust.

Voluntary aided schools
Voluntary-aided schools are religious or faith schools. Just like foundation schools, the governing body employs the staff and sets the entrance criteria. School buildings and land are usually owned by a charity,.....