Ten Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize
Awarded for Excellence in newspaper journalism, literary achievements, and musical composition
Country United States
Presented by Columbia University
First awarded 1917
Official website: www.pulitzer.org

    The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) Joseph Pulitzer who had made his fortune as a newspaper publisher, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City.[2] Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US $10,000 cash award.[3] The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal.[3][4]
    Each year, 102 judges are selected, by the Pulitzer Prize Board, to serve on 20 separate juries for the 21 award categories (one jury for both photography awards). Most juries consist of five members, except for those for public service, investigative reporting, beat reporting, feature writing and commentary categories, which have seven members.[2] For each award category, a jury makes three nominations. The board selects the winner by majority vote from the nominations, or—75% majority vote—bypasses the nominations and selects a different entry. The board can also vote to issue no award. The board is not paid for its work. The jurors in letters, music, and drama get a $2000 honorarium for the year, and each chair gets $2500.(Eugene O'Neill, Drama)
Photographs are a powerful medium. They can expose truths and show emotions that words never could. They can turn a mirror to our deepest fears and they can give us hope in humanity. They can change the world. Since 1942, the Pulitzer Prize has been awarded to the most excellent photographs and photo portfolios taken every year. Usually awarded to news photographers, the award-winning...