Taqa Unit 301

Understand the principles and requirements of assessment.

Explain the functions of assessment in Learning and Development (1.1)

There are three key stages in the process of assessment which involves the following elements:

Initial Assessment:

This is ultimately used to identify the learners’ particular needs and learning requirements. It can include a number of specific tests to identify the above, such as: diagnostic assessments, skill scans, prior knowledge and competence and learning styles of the candidate which can inform the support and guidance provided, Assessment plans can then be devised for individuals.

Formative Assessment:  

Formative assessment is informally assessing progress on a continuous basis using a wide variety of methods such as questioning or peer assessment, this is particularly useful for groups. Formative assessment ultimately provides ongoing feedback and informs development; to identify extra support if needed

Summative Assessment:

Summative assessment is the formal assessment of learner achievement towards units or components of a qualification. This form of assessment usually takes place at the end of each unit or course and is generally evaluative i.e., they are appropriate to determine learning progress and achievement, evaluate the effectiveness of educational programs, measure progress toward improvement goals and qualifications.

In my own area as an Associate Assessor I carry out two of the assessments above which are formative and summative. It is clear to me from the assignments that I receive that peer assessment is a common factor and ideas are shared usually in the form of referencing to workshops carried out as a group.

Summative assessment is of particular importance to me within my role because it is necessary to align the assignment with the criteria and mark the work accordingly. There are two possible outcome a Refer which means certain criteria has not been met and the learner receives...