Supportive Learning

Supportive Learning

Experiential learning is the process of making meaning from direct
experience (Itin 1999). Within this essay the author will critically analyse
planning, facilitation and support of learning following Knolb's
Experiential Learning Cycle (1984), Honey and Mumfords (1992)
Learning Style. Parlsoe & Wray's (2000) and Schon (1987) Coaching
Style and the domain the learning outcome addresses using Bloom's
Taxonomy of learning (1956) adapted by the mentor for the learning
outcome of a qualified nurse working in a specialized area.

Mentoring and coaching student nurses and other health professionals is
no longer seen as an add on role for the qualified, experienced nurse but
as an integral part of being a competent practicing registered nurse. NMC
2009, Code of Professional Conduct states "you must facilitate students
and others to develop their competence".

Further more, it has been acknowledged that all practitioners have the
responsibility for supporting and teaching others. (DOH 2001). All
nurses have an educator role were they are expected to teach, learn and
assess to ensure clinical competence in the NHS (Dix & Hughes 2005)

The author works in specialized area, where there are no students. The
department undertakes the investigation and management of a wide range
of disorders, which require IV Therapy.

The leaning outcome was designed for new members of staff in this
specialized area, using a learning sequence introduced by Kolb (1984).
In introducing the idea of the experiential learning cycle and of leaning
styles, Kolb defines learning as the process whereby "knowledge is
created through the transformation of expertise". He suggest that ideas
are not fixed but formed and modified through current and past
experiences. His learning cycle consist of four stages; completing each
stage is important to improve leaning
(Kolb 1984).

The learning sequence was develop to meet the following outcome '