Schools as Organisations

Schools as organisations   UNIT 11

Compulsory education in England is for children aged 5-18 years.   It became an entitlement for all 3-4 years olds' to receive 12.5 hours free childcare as part of the Childcare Act 2006.   The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was introduced in 2008 to give high quality education and support in pre schools, it was revised in 2012 by Dame Clare Tickell to make it more focused on supporting children's early learning.   The EYFS is for children from birth up to the age of 5,   all schools and Ofsted registered early years providers in all sectors including voluntary, private and maintained follow a structure of learning and care for children. Children are now offered 15hrs a week free childcare, any additional hours are chargeable.   They receive this entitlement after the term of the their 3rd birthday, this may be moving to 2 years old, this is for 38 weeks of the academic year until they reach the age of 5.   The settings that the free entitlement can be used at are:
Playgroups and Pre schools
Day Nurseries
Private Nurseries
Sure Start Children's Centres
Childminders - must be accredited
Primary School
There are many of these childcare providers in each borough and they are open at various times of the day and sometimes through the holidays.

There are many different types of schools in every borough for all ages and educational needs.
Community schools which are Grammar and non selective are those funded by the state.   The local education authority (LEA) are in charge of admissions, are members on the governing body for the school and employ staff.   They are responsible for services like catering, special needs and mandatory duties like the budget. The governors are responsible for budgets and the quality of teaching.  
Foundation and Trust schools are also called Voluntary aided schools and Voluntary controlled.
Voluntary Schools are run by their own governing body and are responsible for admissions...