Schools as Organisations

All children aged 3-4 in England are entitled to receive up to 15 free hours of early years education for 38 weeks of the year. This is a part of the Every Child Matters agenda and the Childcare Act 2006. The government funds local authorities to ensure that every child receives up to 2 years free education before reaching school age. Early years provision in school is about supporting very young children, it is based on the concept of learning through play.

There are four types of mainstream state schools which   are all   funded by the local authorities and are   also known as maintained schools. Community schools are run and owned by the local authority. This will also support the school through looking to develop links with the local community, and providing support services. They will also usually determine the admissions policy. The local authorities can then develop the use of the school facilities for local groups such as adult education classes or childcare classes.     Foundation and trust schools are run by thier own governing body, which determines the admissions   policy in consultation with the local authority. The school land and   buildng will also be owned by the governing body or a charitable foundation. A trust school, although a type of foundation school,   will form a charitable Trust with an outside partner, this could be a business. The decision to become a Trust school will be made by the governing body in consultation with parents. Voluntary schools come under two types, the first voluntary-aided schools. These   are mainly religious or 'faith' schools, although anyone can apply for a place. They are run by there own governing body in the same way as a foundation school. They are funded partly by the governing body, partly by the charity and partly by the local education authority. Voluntary-controlled   schools are similar type of schools to volutary-aided schools. They are run and funded by the local authority which also employs the...