Schools as Organisations

Unit 6- Schools as Organisations

LO1 Know the structure of education from early years to post compulsory education
1.1 Summarise entitlement and provision for early years education

In England, all children of the ages 3 and 4 years have been given the entitlement to receive free early education.  This is part of the Every Child Matters agenda and the Childcare Act 2006.  All children have been given the right to 15 hours per week for 38 weeks of the year.

As part of the Early Years Foundation Curriculum, schools in England runs from the ages of three to five years which means it is followed in nurseries and reception classes.  All early year providers are required to follow this framework.  Providers such as non-maintained schools, independent schools, all providers on the Early Years Resister and all providers registered with an Early Years child minder agency are all also required to follow the framework.

The EYFS seek to provide:

• quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets led behind
• a secure foundation through learning and development which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly
• partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
• equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring every child is included and supported.

The EYFS aims for children to develop through 7 areas of learning and development.  The three prime areas are:

• Communication and language 
• physical development; and
• personal, social and emotional development.

These three areas are most essential to a child's healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them develop skills in 4 specific areas, which are:

• English
• Maths
• understanding the world; and
• Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas of learning and development are used to...