Qcf Hsc Level 3

Gina Hunnings

Qualification Credit Framework

HSC 024 / 205

Principles of safeguarding and protection in health and social care


Level 2

Credit Value 3

1. Describe the meaning of the following types of abuse:

Physical abuse:

To cause physical pain and injury to another person.

Sexual abuse:

To engage in an unwanted sexual act by force or threat without the other persons consent. Encouraging individuals to look at pornography, harassing them by making sexual suggestions, comments or sexual acts where the individual has not consented.

Emotional / psychological abuse:

To abuse in a non-physical way, such as threats, insults, humiliation, intimidation, isolation or stalking.

Financial abuse:

A form of mistreatment and fraud in which someone forcibly controls another person's money or other assets without their consent or knowledge.

Institutional abuse:

The mistreatment, abuse or neglect of person at risk by a regime or individuals. It can take place within services that people live in or use. It violates the person's dignity, resulting in a lack of respect for their human rights.

Self neglect:

To neglect to attend to your own needs, such as personal hygiene, appropriate clothing, eating, or tending appropriately to any medical conditions they have.

Neglect by others:

To fail to provide necessary care, assistance, guidance or attention that causes, or is reasonably likely to cause the person physical, mental or emotional harm or substantial damage to or loss of assets.

2.   What are the signs/symptoms of each type of abuse.

  Physical abuse

        Cuts, marks, bruises. To be aware that these may be in places that are not visible when fully clothed.

      Sexual abuse

            Exploitation, unexplained injuries to private parts (genitals)

            The service user may have a medical condition due to the abuse (thrush,     itching,...