Level 3 - Unit 2

unit 2
Early Years Foundation Stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) is a framework that sets the standards for learning, development, safeguarding and welfare for children aged between 0-5 within any early years setting. It was initially introduced in 2007 and became statutory in 2008. Anyone working in such setting must have an understanding of the EYFS and its overall structure, principles and themes, safeguarding and welfare requirements and scope and status. The EYFS is used to inspect the setting when Ofsted attend. This means that you will need to know how the setting is inspected and when the child’s progress will be assessed so that you are ensuring to be following the EYFS.

The EYFS also sets standards for staff members and the setting which outline how you should be working in order to benefit the welfare of the child. Some of these include quality and consistency throughout the setting, a secure foundation, partnership working, and equality of opportunity. The EYFS has outlined these factors to ensure that every child makes good progress and is never left behind, to ensure that activities are planned around every child’s individual needs, to create development opportunities, an anti-discriminatory setting to ensure that every child is included and finally a setting where staff, parents and children can all work together to ensure the welfare of every child.

Below I will write a detailed description of the understanding that you will need in order to fulfil your role within an early years setting:

Scope and legal status

When the EYFS became statutory in 2008 its aim was to improve outcomes for children in early years, this means that it is now mandatory to follow these legal requirements to ensure the standards set are being met. The legal status is based on several other pieces of legislation, which are:

    • The Children Act 1989 and 2004

    • Data Protection Act 1998

    • Childcare Act 2006

    • Safeguarding...