Know the Structure of Education from Early Years to Post-Compulsory Education

Since 2004 all children in the UK aged three and four years old have been entitled to free places at nursery or another preschool setting. The free entitlement provides universal access to early childhood education, ensuring that all children have the opportunity to benefit from early years education. The extended hours also help parents who wish to go back to work.

The characteristics of the different types of school in relation to educational stages and school governance are as follows;
  * Community Schools
These are run by the Local Authority. The local education authority employs the schools staff. They own the building, and the land, and deal with the budget and appoint or dismiss staff.
  * Foundation and Trust Schools
Foundation Schools are run by their own governing body which determines the admissions policy in consultation with the local education.
The governors employ the staff and they own the land and buildings. A trust school, although a type of foundation school, will form a charitable trust with an outside partner, such as a business. The school will have to buy in any support services. The decision to become a trust school will be made by the governing body in consultation with parents.
  * Voluntary Schools
These are mainly religious or faith schools. The have their own governing body whom employ the staff. The church owns the building and the land. They are responsible for their own budget; usually these schools are Church of England or Catholic Schools.
  * Specialist Schools
These are usually secondary schools which can apply for specialist status to develop one or two subject specialisms. They receive additional government funding for doing this.
  * Independent Schools
Independent schools are funded by fees paid by parents and income from investments, gifts and charitable endowments. Most have charitable status which means they can claim tax redemption.
  * Academies
Academies have close links with the local...