Indian State Forces

Indian State Forces: An Overview

In the present times, Military History becomes a popular branch of historical studies, generally covers the record of activities of all armed forces including armies, navies, and air forces, in times of war as well as during peace. Military History includes the several features such as, Battles and Campaigns, Strategy and Tactics, Doctrine & Training, Organizations, Military & Society, Weapons & Technology, etc. Indian military history has remained a favorite subject for scholars. In colonial period, the Indian States were required to maintain forces for the use of paramount power. These forces were called Indian State Forces. With increasing demands, their organization and training were brought similar to the regular British Indian Army. Later, Indian State Forces were became the components of British Indian army. Indian State Forces were executed the excellent part with British Indian Army during World Wars.
The State Forces were fought continuously with foreign and British Indian army. They were identified as Imperial Service Troops during First World War. After First World War, they were recognized as Indian State Forces. They were reorganized and classified as class A, B and C. Class A were fought with main British Indian army in overseas. Overall there were 73 state forces units serving outside their states. Though only few were actively contributed towards war. While they were serving inside their state, they were under their rulers. But when they were serving with main British Indian army, they were under the Commander. All ranks of the state units, serving outside their state, were paid Indian army rates of pay.

As Imperial Service Troops, the units of the Indian states were served in campaigns such as Laswari Campaign 1803,
first Afghan war 1837, first Sikh war 1845-46, second Sikh war 1848-49, Sepoy Munity 1857, Hunza Nagar Campaign 1891, Chitral 1891, North West Frontier of India and Tirah 1897, China war...