Guide to qualifications
and standards in
adult social care

This guide details all the current
adult social care qualifications
recommended by Skills for Care.
The qualifications have been
developed in partnership with
employers, people who need
care and support, carers, learning
providers, sector experts, awarding
organisations and other key
organisations within the adult social
care sector.
Skills for Care strongly believes that, when delivered well, these
qualifications will provide a capable, confident and skilled workforce.
These qualifications will support workers to deliver compassionate
care based on strong values and ensure dignity is experienced by
all those who need care and support and their carers.
The guide is divided into three main sections:
Entry into social care
For those new to the sector considering a career in social care

Occupational competence
‘Core’ qualifications that can be used to demonstrate professional competence

Continuing professional development
Ongoing learning opportunities

There are also helpful sections on key standards for the sector, funding, Apprenticeships, information
on choosing a learning provider and other tools and resources to support learning.
P02 | 03




Standards for a better start
Common Induction Standards
g Manager Induction Standards

Entry level qualifications
g Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care


Qualifications of occupational competence
g Level 2 Diploma in Health and Social Care
g Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care
g Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for Health and Social Care and
Children and Young People’s Services
g Commissioning, Procurement and Contracting for Care
Services – Diplomas at Levels 2, 3 and 5


Continuing professional development qualifications
g Activity provision
g Assisting and moving
g Chair based exercise
g Dementia
g Diabetes
g End of life
g Food safety and nutrition
g I Care...Ambassador
g Learning...