Explain the legal status and principles of the relevant early years framework, and how national and local guidance materials are used in settings

All practitioners should understand and know the framework for Early Years provision used within the relevant United Kingdom home nation.
The first and main principle of the EYFS is to achieve the five outcomes of the ECM of staying safe, enjoying and achieving, making a contribution and achieving economic well-being.
Since September 2008 England has introduced a statutory curriculum for children aged 0-5 years who are being cared for education outside of their homes.
The statutory framework for EYFS is set by the government and all Early Years have to follow this to ensure standardization, which includes child minders, after-school clubs, nurseries, pre-schools, play-groups and schools. In addition to the education programme that is defined, the Early Years Foundation Stage also combines the welfare requirements.

There are 7 areas of learning and development, the 3 prime areas are:

  * Personal/social and emotional development
  *   Physical development
  * Communication language and literacy

Providers must also support children in 4 specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  * Knowledge and understanding of the world
  * Mathematics
  * Literacy
  * Expressive arts & design.

Each area of learning is linked to the 5 outcomes of the ‘Every child matters’ framework and key early learning goals. The development stages outlined are broad and show different ways children need to achieve these early learning goals. It is centered upon the needs of the individual child, is holistic and enables the child to progress through the areas of learning and development.
The EYFS sets out legal requirement relating to learning and development (goals of early learning, educational programs and arrangement of...

Similar Essays