Explain Models of Practice That Underpin Equality

Explain models of practice that underpin equality, diversity and inclusion in your own area of responsibility

Everyone should be treated with dignity and respect. In my job role I am responsible for ensuring that all individuals, their families, friends, carers and members of staff who I am working with are treated equally.

There are numerous pieces of legislation, code of practices and organisation policies which regulate equality, diversity and inclusion within my own area of responsibility. Some of which are:

  Equality Act 2010

  The Equality Act 2010 is the law which bans unfair treatment and helps achieve equal opportunities in the workplace and in a wider society. This act has replaced previous anti- discrimination laws to remove inconsistencies and make the law simpler helping people to understand and comply with the act. The act covers 9 characteristics which can not be used to treat people unfairly. These characteristics are:

  1) Age
  2) Disability
  3) Gender reassignment
  4) Marriage and civil partnership
  5) Pregnancy and maternity
  6) Race
  7) Religion or belief
  8) Sex
  9) Sexual orientation

  The act sets out different ways in which it is unlawful to treat someone, such as direct, combined and indirect discrimination, harassment, victimisation and failing to make a reasonable adjustment for a disabled person. The act prohibits unfair treatment in the workplace, when providing goods, facilities and services, when exercising public functions, in the disposal and management of premises, in education and by associations.

  Essential standards for quality and safety compliance criteria

  The essential standards regulate health and social care in England, replacing the National minimum standards. Since this has come into force, every health and adult social care service are required to meet the essential standards of quality and safety. The CQC will continuously monitor a provider’s...