Equal Rights Proposition Outline

Within the United States, same sex couples can only get married in seventeen out of the fifty states across America. Several states across the United States allow same sex marriage, or marriage equality. The states in the U.S. that allow same sex marriage are California, Washington, New Mexico, Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Maryland, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Delaware and Washing ton D.C. Since 1993, every American state has taken some position on marriage equality (marriage equality.org, 2014).
As we grow ever closer to realizing the dream of equality here in the United States, there are millions more LGBT people around the world who live in fear and isolation – and under the rule of governments that criminalize their very identities. ("Issue: International", 2011 -2014). LGBT stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender equal rights.
As of august 2013, there are fifteen countries across the worlds that allow same sex couples to marry. These countries are Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, Iceland, New Zealand, Netherlands, France Norway, Spain, Portugal, South Africa, Uruguay and Sweden as well as some parts of Mexico and some states in the United States of America. In the united kingdom, there is a law that has been passed that will become effective on march 29, 2014 in England and whales that will allow same sex couples to get married.
There are many different attitudes towards same-sex marriages ranging from praise, acceptance and integration, sympathetic toleration, indifference, prohibition and discrimination, to persecution and physical annihilation.
While there are many countries all over the world who accept same sex marriages, some do not accept it. Others only accept one form of same sex marriages such as only men allowed to have a same sex marriage or only women being able to have a same sex marriage.  
Get the Facts. (2014). Retrieved from...