E100 Tma1

Table to complete for TMA 01, Part 1
Which curriculum framework are you working with in your early years setting? Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
The curriculum is built around four principles are:
A unique child
Positive relationships
Enabling Environments
Learning and development
(department of education, 2012)
Who wrote the curriculum framework and when was it first published? The Department of Education, Department for Children, Schools and Families (DCSF). It was first published in 2008

Who is the curriculum framework aimed at and how do you know this? The curriculum is aimed at children birth to 60+ months. I know this as it is in the guidance document with the curriculum.

It quotes in the EYFS curriculum “Children develop at their own rate, and in their own way. These statements should not be used as a tick list more as a tracker document to determine at what age and stage each child is, and to plan individual activities to help them develop skills for their future.” (Department of Education, 2012, p.12)

What age range does the curriculum framework cover? Birth to 60+ months
How is the curriculum framework organised? The EYFS is organised by ages and stages with different age related statements. It is not a strict tick list and the bands overlap as some children develop faster in certain areas.
What is the aim of the curriculum framework?
The aim is to help a child achieve the five outcomes of “every child matters”
Staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well being.
The four principles are: A unique child, positive relationships, enabling environments, learning and developing.

The Early Years Foundation Stage quotes “The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the five Every Child Matters
outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution,
and achieving economic well-being by setting the...