Communication and Professional Relationships with Children, Young People and Adults.

Understand child and young person development

  1. Understand the expected pattern of development for children and young people from Birth-19 years.
      2.1 Explain the sequence and rate of each aspect of development from birth-19 years

Aspects of development:
  * Physical
  * Communication
  * Intellectual/cognitive
  * Social, emotional and behavioural
  * Moral.
There are three broad stages of development: early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. The definitions of these stages are organized around the primary tasks of development in each stage, though the boundaries of these stages aren’t exact. Society's ideas about childhood shift over time, and research has led to new understandings of the development that takes place in each stage.
Early Childhood (Birth to Eight Years)
Early childhood is a time of tremendous growth across all areas of development. The dependent newborn grows into a young person who can take care of his or her own body and interact effectively with others.
Physically, between birth and age three a child typically doubles in height and quadruples in weight. Bodily proportions also change, so that the infant, whose head accounts for almost one-fourth of total body length, becomes a toddler with a more balanced, adult-like appearance. Despite these rapid physical changes, the typical three-year-old has mastered many skills, including sitting, walking, toilet training, using a spoon, scribbling, and sufficient hand-eye coordination to catch and throw a ball.
Between three and five years of age, children continue to grow rapidly and begin to develop fine-motor skills.
By age five most children demonstrate fairly good control of pencils, crayons, and scissors. Gross motor accomplishments may include the ability to skip and balance on one foot. Physical growth slows down between five and eight years of age, while body proportions and motor skills become more advanced.