Australia Pestle

Australia and Fosters
Well to begin with Australia, world’s smallest continent…came into worl’d view in 1901 when the six colonies federated and became the Commonwealth of Australia.
Political Environment
Type of Government system:-
The form of government used in Australia is a Constitutional Monarchy – ‘Constitutional’ because the powers and procedures of the Commonwealth Government are defined by a written constitution, and ‘Monarchy’ because Australia’s Head of State is Queen Elizabeth II.
In Australia rule making powers are distributed between the Commonwealth, six States and two Territories: New South Wales, (NSW) Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and Northern Territory (see map – Norfolk Island Territory has also been given some local rule making powers by the national government)

(Australia’s government system is a liberal democratic one - a political system that has free elections, a multiplicity of political parties, political decisions made through an independent legislature, and an independent judiciary, with a state monopoly on law enforcement , in short   a system working in the interest of the citizens.)
Control structure of Australia:-
The Australian government structure is quite centralized as major areas such as taxation, defence, foreign affairs, postal and telecommunications services are managed by the federal government while rest of the matters such as police, hospitals, education and public transport are taken care of by the state and local government.
Benefit of centralization - Things run more smoothly and decisions take less time. There is strong power centrally located so problems are just altogether swiftly executed.
Centralized government means that one body makes all the important decisions for the nation or state, and handles all responsibiliites, it is best for smaller nations that dont have much territory to control, therefore must keep everything...