Andaman and Nicobar Islands |
—  Union Territory  — |
Port Blair                 Location of Andaman and Nicobar Islands |
Coordinates | 11.68°N 92.77°E / 11.68°N 92.77°E / 11.68; 92.77Coordinates: 11.68°N 92.77°E / 11.68°N 92.77°E / 11.68; 92.77 |
Country |  India |
Territory | Andaman and Nicobar Islands |
District(s) | 3 |
Established | 1956-11-01 |
Capital | Port Blair |
Largest city | Port Blair |
Lt. Governor | Lieutenant General Bhopinder Singh (Retd.) AVSM PVSM |
Population• Density | 356,1521 (32)• 43 /km2 (111 /sq mi) |
Official languages | Hindi, Bengali, Tamil, English, Malayalam, Nicobarese |
Time zone | IST (UTC+5:30) |
Area | 8250 km2 (3185 sq mi) |
ISO 3166-2 | IN-AN |
Population data as per the Indian Census.[1] |
The Andaman and Nicobar Islands are a group of islands in the Indian Ocean and a Union Territory of The Republic of India.
The territory is located in the Indian Ocean, and geographically is considered part of Southeast Asia, close to Aceh in Indonesia and separated from them by the Andaman Sea. It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands, separated by the 10° N parallel, with the Andamans to the north of this latitude, and the Nicobars to the south. The Andaman Sea lies to the east and the Bay of Bengal to the west.
The territory's capital is the Andamanese town of Port Blair. The territory's population as per the most recent (2001) Census of India was 356,152. Added together, the total land area of the territory is approximately 6,496 km² or 2,508 sq mi.
    * |

First Inhabitants
The Andaman and Nicobar islands have been inhabited for several thousand years, at the very least. The earliest archaeological evidence yet documented goes back some 2,200 years; however, the indications from genetic, cultural and linguistic isolation studies point to habitation going back 30,000 to 60,000 years, well into the Middle Paleolithic.[2]
In the Andaman Islands,...