American Government

ASSIGNMENT: America Government Systems
Due Date: 10/04/2010

The United States is a federal union of 50 states, with the District of Columbia as the seat of the federal government. The Constitution outlines the structure of the national government and specifies its powers and activities, and defines the relationship between the national government and individual state governments. Power is shared between the national and state (local) governments. Within each state are counties, townships, cities and villages, each of which has its own elective government.
How Government Works
  The US Government was structured in order to preserve a balance of power between the three respective branches of government.  The three branches are known as the legislative, judicial and executive.  Our forefathers, concerned that one branch of government would become too powerful created a system of separated powers and checks and balances to help stabilize the federal government.

I-Legislative Branch
The legislative branch of includes Congress and government agencies.  Congress makes laws and has two parts: the Senate and the House of Representatives.  The Congress is charged with the responsibility of creating making laws by writing what is known as a "bill."  If a bill is passed, it becomes a law if the President (Executive Branch) approves them. 
Other powers delegated to Congress include, the power to declare war and control inter-state trade.

II-Executive Branch
The executive branch includes the President, Vice President, Departments, and Independent Agencies.  This branch is responsible for the enforcement of laws enacted by Congress. 

III-Judicial Branch
Article III of the Constitution established the judicial branch of government and the creation of the Supreme Court.  The duties of the Supreme Court include the power of judicial review.  This

means they interpret laws, decide the constitutionality of laws, and determine how...