Aa Star System

Introduction – explain the purpose of classification systems (Why do we have them) what their focus is (what do they do)

AA star systems    
The AA star rating system hotel was started by the AA in 1912. From the start hotel inspectors paid for themselves and accepted no favours. The star symbol was taken from a brandy classification system. A 3 star hotel was described as “a really decent, average middle class hotel”.
The AA star rating system is used in UK and Republic of Ireland to rate Hotels. This rating classification was introduced for the consumer to find out what hotels to expect. This rating system informs about the quality of the accommodation such as room size and the quality of furnishings.
It also indicates what facilities the hotel has for example:
• Gym
• Shops
• Conferences rooms
• Night clubs/ entertainment
The symbol of the AA star rating system is the star, and there are 5 different star ratings, for example:   Have an image of the AA sign
One star hotels offer a limited range of facilities and meals may be fairly simple. Lunch may not be served and some bedrooms may not have en suite bath/shower rooms. Cleanliness, comfort and maintenance have always to be in an acceptable standard.
Two and three star hotels offer more facilities than one star hotel, and they are more professional and better equipped. They also provide more services.
In Four and Five star hotels you will find more luxurious and spacious accommodation. They are well designed and you can see they have more elegance. They offer many facilities such as 24 hours room service, laundry and dry cleaning and many more. Also they offer personalised customer care and the staff are more helpful and knowledgeable and they combine efficiency with courtesy.
The star system also applies to Guest accommodation and self-catering establishments. They are rated differently for example guest accommodation get gold star awards when they are excellent and could get 3, 4 or 5 star...